Blogger Recognition Award

A fortnight or so ago, Seattle-based Allison over at Travel Gourmand nominated me for the Blogger Recognition Award. Allison’s blog, as its name suggests, is packed with adventures, both stateside and further afield, and culinary delights. Her recent recounting of her time in Churchill brought back fond childhood memories of the first time I ever learnt of Hudson Bay – in the Animal Ark book Polar Bears on the Path. (I still love alliterative titles. Some things will never change.) Globetrotting aside, you’ll find plenty of restaurant recommendations and recipes inspired by her travels to try out at home. Without further ado, mille mercis to Allison for the nomination, and (heigh ho, heigh ho) onto the rules we go!

1-blogger-recognition-award

Rules of the Blogger Recognition Award:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and link back to their blog
  • Write a post featuring the award
  • Provide a brief story of how your blog began and give two pieces of advice to new bloggers
  • Nominate (up to) 15 other bloggers for the award

Once upon a time . . .

A twenty year old returned to Blighty after seven months in Alsace. Her blog documenting her year abroad had died of natural causes, and after a few months she realised she missed the blogosphere. Enter, La Grenouille Anglaise. (Writing in the 3rd person is rather odd, so I’m now switching back to my preferred narrative point of view.) Limiting myself to just one topic would have felt like living in black and white, rather than technicolour, so my little corner of the internet quickly turned into an outlet for anything and everything that struck my fancy: recipes; hikes; travels, both near and far; language learning (and occasional tongue-in-cheek rants); and ramblings on life as I know it.

From one blogger to another,

  1. Be yourself – and just as you wouldn’t restrict yourself to only having one hobby or only experiencing one emotion, don’t worry about limiting your blog to just one sphere of interest. Simply put, there’s no need to have a niche – just write about whatever floats your boat. (If I haven’t convinced you, check out Rhiannon’s post: ‘Why “Finding Your Blogging Niche” is Actually Nonsense’.)
  2. Interact with other blogs – rather than just skimming through your WordPress Reader, take a moment to like or, even better, comment on others’ posts. Share the love, as it were.

Nominees:

Alexandra Woodfin | TAPIF tips and rants on France – plus a whole host of other things too. Trying to navigate the linguistic minefield of tu and vous? Getting nowhere with la CAF? Looking for some TEFL-related inspiration? You’re in safe hands.

Invisibly Me | Inspiring thoughts and thought-provoking posts; a genuine invisible hero, who sees the light even when things go pear-shaped.

Carl Versus Life | Carl packs a punch with his worldly insights – in both vlog and blog form – and humorous approach to travel. If you’re in need of a pick-me-up, be sure to check out his ‘Travel Fails’.

La Vie en C-Rose | A former resident of the city I currently call home, CatherineRose is now studying translation, localisation and (last term) interpretation across the pond. (The Atlantic Ocean is significantly larger than a pond, so I haven’t the faintest idea how that idiom came about. But I digress.) Her expat chronicles are particularly cracking and a recipe for tears of laughter.

 

16 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Thank you for the nomination, Rosie!!! You are too kind! (One time someone said to me, “You know how some bloggers think they’re witty but actually they’re not?” after finding my blog, so I really appreciate your nice comments 🙂 ) Also, great advice! I think WordPress.com is so nice because it lends itself to community, which is now one of my favorite things about blogging and helps me keep my navel-gazing to a minimum.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome – and goodness that person sounds like a bit of a troll!! That’s one of the things I really like about WordPress as a platform, how it’s so easy to find other blogs and interact with bloggers who share similar interests 🙂 I just had to look up exactly what “navel-gazing” meant – I’ve never heard of the phrase before. English is a language that just keeps on giving – I love discovering new words and expressions!

      Like

      1. Maybe it’s an American thing? I learned so much English in France from my lovely English and Australian friends. There were so many times that I had to ask for explanations (“Sorry, what is a ‘faff’?”) and after awhile I became paranoid about correcting my students (“It sounds wrong to me, but maybe they say that in Australia?”)

        Liked by 2 people

      2. It could well be – I never realised just how many differences there are between AmE and BrE until I started teaching here, as so many students have learnt AmE. One time I was teaching a class about globalisation, and a student pulled me to one side and said in a concerned voice “Miss, we’ve always been taught to spell globalisation with a z”… And I had to explain that it was because I was British that I spelt it with an s! I have similar issues, usually “Well Americans might say that…”

        Liked by 2 people

      3. I had quite a few students (and other teachers…) who strongly preferred British English (“correct” English, apparently…) but I think with all the American series they watch that a lot of them pick up on American words and the accent. (We were all frustrated in phonetics class since it’s strictly RP in the fascicule!) I usually used British spellings in class since it’s preferred on some exams, but I let them write however they wanted as long as they were consistent. It makes me smile that your student was so concerned over your spelling of globaliz/sation.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. I suppose their preferences must be linked to the version they’ve had the most exposure too, or the one they first learnt. I find I end up picking up Americanised expressions, things like saying “I’m good” instead of “I’m fine” – I guess globalis/zation contributes to this merging of dialects and such! It must make it awfully confusing for learners of English at times though – different vocabulary and spellings (not to mention accents). It was awfully amusing getting a group of students to “translate” American English words into British English one time though. I can see why RP would be the standard for a phonetics class, but since only a minimal percentage of the English-speaking population actually speak like that it seems a little outdated!

        Like

  2. Congrats! And thank you so much for the nomination and lovely comment. It’s good to hear a bit more about how your blog was born, and the first bit of advice, about being yourself and not setting limits as part of having a “niche” is a great reminder and very useful to keep in mind. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome, I really admire your openness about different social issues and your positivity. I can see the benefits of having a niche if you want to monetise your blog, but otherwise… well, where’s the fun in blogging about only one thing?!

      Like

  3. Congrats on the award! You have a good point about not limiting your blog to one topic at hand. Although the aim of my blog is to discuss things travel-related, I also try to expand by viewing it through different lenses, in terms of my personal stories, tips and advice, and even poetry.

    However, to play devil’s advocate, there are certain things that I would prefer to talk about in other spheres, so I also encourage the creation of separate blogs for them. I currently run three blogs regularly, and while it’s quite a bit of work, I think it’s good for me to better organize my thoughts into separate spaces, whether on travel, French, and miscellaneous ramblings. To each their own!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Congratulations to you too – I saw you were also among Allison’s nominees 🙂 I think it’s nice to have a creative outlet for any number of topics (or several outlets if you’re so inclined!), and I’m in awe of the fact you run three blogs (including one in French)! I originally thought about running my blog in French and then ended up reverting to English with the odd “bilingual” post – it makes it more manageable to keep on top of it then 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.