Parc de la Tête d’Or: Through the Seasons

When I was living in Lyon, Sundays were synonymous with trips to the Parc de la Tête d’Or, the city’s largest park and the centrepiece of the sixième. I witnessed the changing of the seasons in all its glory: the leaves turning from green to shades of russet, amber and garnet; delicate layers of frost clinging to the plants in the weak winter sun; the swathes of daffodils on the verges heralding the start of spring; and the return of picnickers and pedalos to the park in early summer.

1-DSC06847

During those first few months in Lyon, I was plagued by loneliness, and the Parc de la Tête d’Or became, for want of a better expression, my happy place; a place that deserves more than a passing mention on this blog. This sprawling urban park has greenhouses galore, a beautiful botanic garden and a large boating lake. Oh, and a zoo, albeit a small one. Having grown up with Chester Zoo on my doorstep, it was comforting to have a small slice of home abroad. Being part of my weekly (and by summertime, daily) routine and a firm favourite on my itinerary for visits from friends and family, I inevitably accumulated a mass of photos of the Parc de la Tête d’Or and its many furry, scaly and feathery inhabitants. Over the past week, I’ve been sifting through them all to bring you a virtual tour of my favourite green space.

1-dsc05145

Enter the park from Avenue Verguin, and the first things you’ll come across are the serres (greenhouses), which form part of the jardin botanique. Between them, they house everything from cacti and succulents to orchids and water lilies. If you’re lucky, you might spot one of the resident common wall lizards in the Serre de Madagascar.

1-DSC08258

1-DSC05149

Venture further into the park, and you’ll come to the jardin alpin (alpine garden) and, beyond that, the outdoor section of the jardin botanique. From April to September, it’s an explosion of colour: blush-coloured blossoms; red, coral and vivid pink roses; sunshine-yellow dahlias. Come winter, violas and pansies fill the flowerbeds.

1-DSC08260

1-DSC08629

1-DSC08655

Next up, it’s the parc zoologique, home to all creatures great and small. Saltwater crocodiles bask in the sun; buffaloes and zebras graze on the African Plain. Gibbons, tamarins and capuchins swing from branch to branch; sloths ease along theirs, millimetre by millimetre. I loved all the animals, but I had a soft spot for the bat-eared foxes, red pandas and the lone spectacled bear.

1-DSC08264

1-DSC08646

1-DSC07758

If you can bear to tear yourself away from the critters, your next stop is the lake. The Petit Train du Parc de la Tête d’Or circles the larger of the lake’s two islands, where you’ll find the velodrome. (Not the most aesthetically-pleasing of structures, but it certainly served its purpose during the Open Parc tournament.) Once you’ve crossed this island, you’ll come to the largest of Lyon’s rose gardens. I use the term loosely, because while it is marked on the map as such, I found it to be lacking in roses (and abundant in daffodils). Île du Souvenir, the smaller island, contains a monument to those who lost their lives during WW1; it’s accessible via a small passageway beneath the lake.

1-DSC08278

1-DSC07751

Loop round the lake, and you’ll come to the last of the rose gardens, where new varieties of rose are judged each year, and the deer park. For those with tots in tow, there’s also a carousel, playground and pony rides to keep them entertained, not to mention dozens of snack stands. Just don’t go for the candyfloss, unless you’re partial to spun sugar with a hint of wasp in it. Bonne visite !

11 thoughts on “Parc de la Tête d’Or: Through the Seasons

  1. Ohhh the red panda is my favorite! I just wanted to cuddle him. He used to do laps in his little area – down the tree, around the ditch, across the little mound of land, and back up the tree. You were so lucky to live right by the park, it is definitely one of the highlights of Lyon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. S/he’s absolutely adorable! Sometimes my visits coincided with feeding time, and the pair of them looked so cute munching away on their bamboo stalks. It really is a highlight of the city – all my visitors loved it too!

      Like

      1. I think they grow up (in both senses of the word!) pretty quickly – at least judging by those I’ve seen at Chester Zoo! They’re adorable whatever size they are though 🙂

        Like

    1. I’ve really enjoyed reading your posts on Lyon! (Coincidentally, I also rented a room from Chez Nestor while I lived there, complete with sofas in random places.) I’ll set up a contact page, it’d be lovely to hear from you 🙂

      Like

  2. Parc de la Tête d’Or is a great place to visit, especially on a sunny day! I’ve been to the botanical gardens, along with the zoo, on two separate visits already, and I’m still awestruck by the sheer size of the park. Things are cooling down here with plenty of grey skies, unfortunately, but I hope to visit it again when the weather’s good again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still gobsmacked by the size of it – we don’t have many parks on that scale over here, never mind parks with that much in them. It’s amazing to think it’s all free, too! I spent so many days there just reading a book in the summer months 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.