Jeu, Set et Match: A Day at Roland-Garros

There are currently 5,384 people ahead of you in the queue. Welcome to the online booking system for Roland-Garros. Fortunately, the virtual queue moved speedily and less than thirty minutes later I was presented with various ticket options for my chosen day. Whoopee! The French are hardly renowned for having efficient online booking systems, and yet there I was, in awe of their seamless booking process before I’d even set foot in the grounds. As soon as I knew I’d be spending another year in the Land of Baguettes, I set my heart on a trip to the French Open. I wasn’t bothered about seeing the final or even a semi-final; I just wanted to experience the French Open any which way I could. Luckily for me, Laurence is always game for watching some live tennis, so it wasn’t difficult to talk him into spending the last weekend of May in Paris!

1-DSC09074

We may not have seen The King of Clay, but it was still a day to remember. Copies of Le Quotidien (the official, free programme) piled high by the entrance doubled up as makeshift umbrellas when the heavens opened and parasols when the current bun turned up its wattage. Plumes of dusty clay rose into the air as players skidded along the baseline; between sets, nets were pulled across the courts and hoses unleashed to dampen the clay.

1-DSC09080

1-DSC09107

We began on Court 3, watching Albert Ramos Viñolas defeat Marius Copil, until the sun got the better of us and we decided to explore the grounds in pursuit of some shade. We found some in the Espace Détente, and passed the heat of the day guzzling our fair share of free Tropicana samples (and then some).

1-DSC09084

Meandering among the smaller outside courts we spotted Venus Williams limbering up, squeezing in a last minute training session before her match on one of the show courts.

1-DSC09083

As soon as the sun’s intensity began to wane, we made a move for Court 2, where Dan Evans was – to put it bluntly – fighting a losing battle against Tommy Robredo. Afterwards, we saw Viktorija Golubic battle it out against Aliaksandra Sasnovich, though we didn’t stay for the whole match as we were feeling a little worse for wear. (I highly recommend dousing yourself in sunblock and taking a hat if the forecast is on the sunny side, as the courts are in the full sun until early evening.)

1-DSC09096

If I returned to the French Open, I’d probably spend the extra euros and buy a ticket for one of the show courts, as the downsides to a grounds pass are (a) that you don’t have a reserved seat, and (b) that you can wait an eternity to be let back onto a court. That said, for tennis fans, it’s still an undeniably fun day out, whatever ticket you happen to hold.

10 thoughts on “Jeu, Set et Match: A Day at Roland-Garros

    1. I was genuinely surprised by how simple it was to get tickets – I was prepared for a Wimbledon-esque ticketing lottery! She was just training on an outside court with a few rows of seats, so we found a spot on the front row which was great! I guess as they don’t publish a training schedule of sorts, it’s luck of the draw if you happen to stumble upon a big name player warming up on a small court.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Sounds fantastic. I’ve always wanted to go to Roland Garros, but I assumed it would be almost impossible to get tickets much like Wimbledon. After reading your post, I’m very tempted to see if I can get tickets next year!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was pleasantly surprised by how easy it was to get tickets for Roland-Garros. It’s worth familiarising yourself with the site before the release date and setting up an account in advance, but the booking process couldn’t be simpler. I’m seriously tempted to go again another year!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. It really was – and compared to Wimbledon, it’s so easy to obtain tickets. If you get the chance to go, it’s best to set up an account before the ticket sale (even the day before will do), as this way you can log in faster on the day to purchase tickets. I’d love to go back another year for more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

