Salted Caramel Brownies

These salted caramel brownies are the epitome of chocolate puddings: just the right level of gooeyness, blended perfectly with a decent dose of chocolate and a smothering of salted caramel. I usually just whip up my usual recipe, but this time (in honour of my sister’s visit) I decided to adapt it and try something new – which turned out to be utterly delicious. Chocolate fanatics, read on . . .

1-DSC06290

Recipe | Salted Caramel Brownies

Ingredients for the salted caramel: 

  • 200g sugar
  • 90g butter
  • 150ml whipping cream
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt (table salt won’t give the required “lumps” of salt in the caramel)

Ingredients for the brownie:

  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 275g butter
  • 100g milk chocolate (chopped into small pieces)
  • 175g plain flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 4 eggs, lightly beaten
  • 325g sugar

Method:

  1. Make the salted caramel first, so that it has time to cool. Melt the sugar in a saucepan, over a low-medium heat. Once the sugar has melted, stir in the butter. Pour in cream and stir in. Remove from heat, add salt. Leave to cool.
  2. Begin preparing the brownie mixture: put the dark chocolate and butter in a bowl, place over a pan of simmering water and allow to melt.
  3. Once melted, remove from heat and stir in sugar.
  4. Add the eggs.
  5. Stir in the flour, baking powder and chopped milk chocolate.
  6. Line a tin with foil or greaseproof paper; my tray was c. 28cm x 18cm x 3cm, as a guideline.
  7. Pour some of the brownie mixture into the tin, then drizzle some of the salted caramel on top.
  8. Repeat until all of the brownie mixture is in the tin, creating layers of brownie and salted caramel as you go. Keep some of the salted caramel aside, to serve with the brownies later.
  9. Bake for 40 minutes at 180°C; when baked, the top should be firm but the inside soft and gooey.
  10. Leave to cool, then cut into squares and enjoy!

Tips:

  • Whilst most recipes call for castor sugar, I find that granulated works just fine for this recipe.
  • Butter and margarine can be used interchangeably in this recipe.
  • The chocolate doesn’t need to be of the best quality; I use cheap supermarket chocolate!
  • For the salted caramel, I would recommend using no more than one teaspoon of salt the first time you make it; after that you can always adapt it to taste.
13 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Brownies

  1. Did you just use a regular spoon/spatula for stirring ingredients together, no whisking?
    A stupid question but I think the last brownie recipe I made was with an electric whisk – I’m very much a novice baker! These sounds so good, and look very appealing! Will save the recipe to try at the weekend, thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after going through many of
    the articles I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m certainly delighted I came across
    it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

    Like

Leave a Reply

